top of page


FFA has an award to match almost any member's unique talents and interests. Through awards programs members gain the skills and confidence needed to succeed in all aspects of life.

Individual Awards and Degrees

Agriscience Fair

Minnesota FFA Agriscience Fair is a competition for FFA members who are interested in the science and technology of agriculture. Students can compete in the agriscience fair in one of six categories: animal systems; environmental services/natural resources systems; food products and processing systems; plant systems; power, structural and technical systems; or social systems.  


FFA has a dynamic degree system that rewards student's achievement as they progress in their leadership, interpersonal, and professional skills. Students can begin their journey at the chapter level with the Discovery, Greenhand, and Chapter FFA Degrees. They can then apply for a State FFA Degree from the state association, and finally work toward the coveted American FFA Degree after graduating from high school.

Proficiency Awards

The Agricultural Proficiency Awards honor FFA members who, through their SAEs, have developed specialized skills that they can apply toward their future careers. Students can compete for awards in 47 areas covering everything from Agricultural Communications to Wildlife Management. Each award area also has two categories, placement and entrepreneurship.

Chapter Awards

Agricultural Literacy

The Minnesota FFA Agricultural Literacy Challenge is a program that encourages FFA chapters to teach others about agriculture. The intent of this program is to increase agricultural awareness and knowledge among people of all ages. Some ideas include: educating elementary school students about where their food comes from or teaching adults and seniors citizens about the vast industry of agriculture.

Land of Service Award

The Land of Service is a recognition program of Minnesota FFA during State Convention. Chapters from across the state of Minnesota plan and conduct service projects and then submit any service hours they are involved in to Minnesota FFA to be recognized during State Convention. The original goal of Land of Service was to have 10,000 service hours but Minnesota FFA chapters have more than tripled that last year.

National Chapter Award

The National Chapter Award Program is designed to recognize FFA chapters that actively implement the mission and strategies of the organization. These chapters improve chapter operations using the National Quality Chapter Standards (NQCS) and a Program of Activities (POA) that emphasize growing leaders, building communities and strengthening agriculture. Chapters are rewarded for providing educational experiences for the entire membership.

Questions? Contact your local FFA advisor for more information about the Chapter, Greenhand and Discovery degrees.


Contact Minnesota FFA Association for State and American degree information.

bottom of page